Category Archives: News

2018 Heartland Gathering

Camp Comer Scout Reservation Map

Gathering Campsite Assignments

Heartland Gathering is Approaching!

Heartland Gathering will be held on April 20-22, 2018 at Camp Comer Scout Reservation.

This event is a meeting of over 1,000
Arrowmen in SR-9 for a weekend long
celebration of fellowship, competition,
and fun! Previously known as
Conclave, Heartland Gathering takes
the name of our Section Fellowship for
the Our Region. Hosted by SR-9,
countless Arrowmen from our Lodge
and others alike have devoted many
hours into making this Section event
something to remember!

16490 Co Rd 89, Mentone, AL 35984

Ini-To Bus Transportation – CLOSES ON 4/15/2018

Founder’s Award 2017

Congratulations to the 2017 recipients of the Founder’s Award. This year, the recipients are Ryan Guy from Ronotohatchi Chapter and Laura Lovell from Echota Chapter. Thank you for always stepping up to help out and doing it with a smile.

The Founder’s Award was created in the 1980’s after the death of founder E. Urner Goodman. Ini-To Lodge may only present the award to two deserving Arrowman each year, whom best exemplify cheerful service in their OA and Scouting activities.

To learn more about the Founder’s Award, and view past recipients, visit here.

Vigil Honor Class of 2017

Congratulations to our 2017 Vigil Honor inductee, Charlie Lovell!

We appreciate Charlie’s hard-working enthusiasm during his time in Ini-To Lodge, and wish the Lovell family best wishes in their new adventure out west.

Charlie has been given the Vigil name, Nuwingi, which translates to “The Willing.” This is also the Vigil name of the Order’s founder, E. Urner Goodman.

Past Vigil Honor recipients may be viewed here.

Pay your 2018 Dues

Lodge dues are now payable for the 2018 calendar year. Paying your dues not only helps out the lodge, but ensures you are eligible to wear the OA flap and participate in lodge events.

Lodge Dues 2018

Announcing our 2018 Lodge Officers


Lodge Officers 2018

Please join us in announcing and congratulating our 2018 lodge officers! We look forward to the many great things they will accomplish during their term.

(from left to right)

Cormac McCarthyTreasurer

John MalnerichVice Chief of Administration

Caper SteenLodge Chief

Jacob StoutVice Chief of Ceremonies

Nicky AkinSecretary

Join us at Winter Banquet where our new officers will be officially sworn-in.

Winter Banquet Registration

Vigil Honor Class of 2016

Congratulations to the Vigil Honor Class of 2016 who completed their ceremony during Spring Ordeal. The recipients were:

Austin Clark
John Hyle
Laura Lovell
Bob Poole

Thank you to Mark Rockwood who has served as the Vigil Honor Chief the past four years. This weekend marked his final time in the role because he will turn twenty-one later this year.

Visit the Vigil Honor page to learn more about the Vigil Honor and see past recipients.

Founder’s Award 2016 – Adult Recipient

Mr. Matt Gillard pictured with past lodge adviser John Kominsky and 2017 Lodge Chief Austin Clark

Congratulations to Mr. Matthew Gillard who was selected as the adult recipient of the Founder’s Award for 2016. The award was presented this weekend at spring Ordeal. Mr. Gillard was unable to attend the winter banquet where Charlie Lovell was announced as the 2016 youth recipient.

Thank you to Mr. Gillard for your dedication and service assisting in the kitchen during lodge events and throughout the lodge and council. Visit the Founder’s Award page for more information and to see past recipients.

Founder’s Award 2016


The lodge would like to congratulate Charlie Lovell on receiving the Founder’s Award for 2016. Charlie is a member of the Echota Chapter who serves on camp staff, volunteers in the dining hall during functions, and is hard at work in his new role as lodge vice chief of ceremonies. Charlie truly represents the cheerful service and spirit all Arrowmen should strive to represent.

Update on March 15, 2017: Adult Recipient for 2016

Visit the Founder’s Award page to learn more about the award and see past recipients.